Graduation, here we come!

“I can’t wait for this to be over now”.

Pretty much my catchphrase for the last few months.

I’d like to say I had a fair idea of just how many late night freak outs my third year at uni would entail, but that would be a complete lie.

For me at least, the whole of 2017 so far has been one ginormous series of deadlines. A constant blur of essays, exams, dissertations and presentations that left me feeling a bit frazzled to say the least.

Until, a few days ago, I sat my final exam for my bachelors degree. After three hours of furious writing, the invigilator told us to put our pens down and for the first time, I let myself look up at the people around me.

The room was a mixture of relief, happiness, and a sense of finality that only happens when you realize a major part of your life has finished.

No matter whether we’re moving on to study masters, become a teacher, or something else entirely, I think we all felt a little nostalgic as we left the room. After all, we’ve spent the last three years working towards the same goal, feeling the same occasionally overwhelming pressure to know where your life was heading.

I haven’t always been certain about what would happen to me after university ended, it’s only really in the last year that I’ve even had an idea about it.

Putting yourself out there in the ‘real world’ can be more than a little intimidating, maybe that’s why the end of third year can be so daunting.

Whether you know already, or you’re still figuring things out, at least we can be sure of one thing – we did it.

(slightly melancholy,) Emily.

 

Leave a Reply

